Look @ Me, Look @ Me!

The Complete And Utter Randomness That Is My Life.

Momma Means Everything…Everything Except For Me. June 1, 2008

Filed under: ellie-bean,keith,other peoples kids — lianadickson @ 8:51 am

Ellie knows lots of words.  At least I think she knows lots of words.  Whenever we see dogs, or cats, or cows, or ducks, etc. she shouts out what they are.  When she sees the picture of her friends Drew and Jack on our fridge she points to it and says “Dooo, Dack”.  She carries around her shoes yelling “Choo”.  However. if you ask her who I am she either says nothing or she says “Dada”.  It’s not that she doesn’t know the word Mama, because I know she does.  She points to lots of things and says “Mama”, and then I correct her.  It usually goes something like this:

Ellie pointing:  “Mama”.

Me:  “No baby, that’s a bear”.

OR

Ellie pointing:  “Mama”.

Me:  “No honey, that’s a car”.

OR

Ellie pointing:  “Mama”.

Me:  “No baby, that’s asian cole slaw”.

I don’t get it.  She knows Dada that’s for sure.  She just looooooooves her dada.  If you ask her where he is she could probably find him across a crowded room.  However, I could be holding her and if you ask her where mama is she would probably point at some fishy crackers or a homeless woman down the street.  I don’t get it.  There are a few times that she actually calls me Mama, but it’s only when she wants some food or a toy.  So I guess in reference to me “Mama” means “getter of things that I want”. 

