Look @ Me, Look @ Me!

The Complete And Utter Randomness That Is My Life.

Because I Like To Torture Myself? April 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lianadickson @ 8:55 pm

Those of you who are friends with me, either in real life or in the world of Facebook, know that almost a year ago I took up running.  When I say “took up running”, I don’t mean just a couple of trips around the block to stay in shape, I mean running for the purpose of training for half marathons, and in October possibly my first full marathon.  A couple of weeks ago my boss sent me an e-mail that he had received from another district manager about a relay that one of his store mangers was trying to get a Starbucks team together for.  I did a little research and signed myself up to run.  I even got two of the people who work at my store involved.  Over the last week or so I have been thinking about what is actually involved in the relay, and here are some of the “highlights”.  Run approximately 15-20+ miles broken up in three sections over the course of about 28 hours, when not running ride in a van with 5 other sweaty people, get little to no sleep over the course of the relay, plan on spending the 24 hours after the relay exhausted and trying to catch up on not only a sleep you missed, but also resting from all the running.  The more I think about it, the less fun it sounds.  What on Earth have I gotten myself into?  And where am I going to poop during all of this?

 

2 Responses to “Because I Like To Torture Myself?”

  1. Big Sexy Says:

    Li,
    I am very excited to come over the day after and have a jam session with Kieth in the living room, as i know you will enjoy our sweet sounds as you rest. As for the POOP issue here you go:

    http://www.traveljohn.com/1-1-5.php

  2. Bret Says:

    My buddy Tim is a triathlete and he just did one of these…he said it was absolutely miserable. I can give you his number if you need someone to talk some sense into you.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.